Skip to main content

The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education

The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education celebrates innovation, inspiration, and impact in education by recognizing outstanding individuals whose accomplishments are making a difference in the lives of students.


Extraordinary leaders honored since 1988


Awarded to recognize each innovator building a better future for students


Years of celebrating changemakers



“Our Prize winners are outstanding leaders who have devoted their careers to closing gaps and accelerating educational opportunity to all students.”

—Harold McGraw III, former Chair, CEO, and President of The McGraw Hill Companies

Explore winners >>


Headshots of the 2023 McGraw Prize winners

Congratulations to this year’s winners

The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Family Foundation and the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education are thrilled to honor these inspiring innovators.

Learn more about the winners.

A Who’s Who of Educational Leadership

The McGraw Prize was established in 1988 by the Board of Directors of McGraw-Hill to honor Harold W. McGraw, Jr., the Chair and CEO. Throughout his life and building on his grandfather’s legacy as a teacher, Mr. McGraw was a vocal and vigorous advocate for education. He believed that society needed to celebrate the role of educators.

Learn More about the McGraw Prize

Latest News


Morgan State President David Wilson describes building a research institution that fulfills an access mission.

Michael Golden headshot

The prize is an amazing opportunity to recognize outstanding innovators working in non-traditional educational and learning settings. Golden discusses the importance of this category, the work of inaugural winner Barbara Oakley, and more.

2023 McGraw Prize Winners headshots

Join the three most recent McGraw Prize winners for conversations about lessons from their transformational work.