Skip to main content

News & Events

Featured News

Terry McGraw standing outside of the Penn GSE building

Harold McGraw III discusses how education can evolve to meet the moment.

Upcoming Events

Please join our mailing list to learn about McGraw Prize news and upcoming events!

All News & Past Events

Displaying 19 through 33 of 33 News and Events items
On-Demand Webinar

Griffin explores how we can catch and cultivate the dreams and innate abilities of students of color through four commitments to them, and to each other.

Deborah Bial standing with arms crossed in front of a chalkboard with writing and corkboard with photos
Prize Winner News

2013 McGraw Prize winner Deborah Bial is the President and Founder of the nonprofit, The Posse Foundation which uses its signature Posse model to support young scholars with diverse demographic backgrounds.

Headshots of the 2021 McGraw Prize Winners

This year’s winners, announced today by the University of Pennsylvania’s Graduate School of Education, are Richard Baraniuk, Doug and Lynn Fuchs, and Carol D. Lee. Each is recognized for their achievements in higher education, preK-12 education, and learning science research respectively.

On-Demand Webinar

An interactive session with Saujani on how we can transform the education system to support all learners.

Reshma Saujani, Founder and CEO of Girls Who Code
Prize Winner News

Reshma Saujani, the founder and CEO of Girls Who Code, was inspired to form the non-profit organization after noticing the dearth of girls in computer science classrooms.

On-Demand Webinar

For more than three decades, the McGraw Prize in Education has recognized outstanding individuals deeply committed to harnessing innovation in education to improve the lives of learners worldwide. View a panel discussion and Q&A with the 2020 McGraw Prize winners moderated by Penn GSE Dean Pam Grossman.


The 2020 McGraw Prize in Education winners Estela Bensimon, Michelene Chi, and Joseph Krajcik were honored on October 21, 2020 in a virtual celebration to applaud their exceptional contributions to the field of education.

2020 McGraw Prize winners Estela Bensimon, Michelene Chi, and Joseph Krajcik
Press Release

One of the most prestigious prizes in education recognizes outstanding achievement in pre-K– 12 education, higher education, and learning science research.

Penn President Amy Gutmann, Suzanne McGraw, Harold McGraw III, GSE Dean Pam Grossman, and Catalyst Director Michael Golden at the McGraw Prize launch event in February 2020.
Prize News

In the first celebration of the McGraw Prize in Education since the University of Pennsylvania became home to the award, President Amy Gutmann said this year’s three winners are among the “great minds devoted to improving education through innovation.”

On-Demand Webinar

How do schools plan ahead for possible interruptions and re-starts to the 2020-21 school year due to COVID-19 outbreaks?

On-Demand Webinar

Learn how Julie Young led the nation in moving K–12 teaching and learning online as the founding President and CEO of Florida Virtual School.

On-Demand Webinar

Is it possible to reshape the culture and the deep architecture around these values, in spite of their underlying business models, labor models, politics, and competing interests?

On-Demand Webinar

For the past decade, Georgia State University has been at the leading edge of demographic shifts in the southeast. While doubling the numbers of non-white and low-income students it enrolls, the university has simultaneously committed to use data to inform systematic institutional change.

On-Demand Webinar

This session explores a set of research-based inclusive curricular design principles for the creation of engineering curricula.